Skip to content

I’m back and starting the growing season!

April 16, 2013

I have been hard at work starting seeds in my tiny greenhouse and have had some successes and some hard learning experiences. 

image

I have lots of lettuces that flourished, but starting tomatoes way early is not for the faint hearted. 

Some of my lettuce, cilantro and spinach made it through the winter which was a surprise, especially since my greenhouse collapsed.

image

My crocusses are in bloom and bring a much needed jolt of color in this still mainly brown landscape. 

I worked on the beds on my zone one garden up by the house and ended up with four long beds!  I can’t wait to start planting out.  Tomorrow I will plant peas and maybe some lettuces.

image

I also dug a swail at the top of the zone one garden.  This area is on a slope and gets alot of sun.  I am hoping the swail and mulches will help cut down on the watering.

From → permaculture

One Comment
  1. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog
    article or vice-versa? My site covers a lot of
    the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by
    the way!

Leave a Reply

